ECOWAS judges sworn in

President John Mahama has sworn in seven newly selected ECOWAS Community Court of Justice judges at the Flagstaff House.
The judges, who will serve for the next four years, are:

  • Mr Jerome Traore of Burkina Faso
  • Mrs Maria Do Cue Montero Silva of Guinea Bissau
  • Mr Yahaya Boiro of Guinea
  • Mr Micah Wilkins Wright of Liberia
  • Mr Hamaye Foune Mahlmadane of Mali
  • Mr Friday Chikoje Nwoke of Nigeria
  • Mr Alioune Sall of Senegal

The President charged the judges to use their positions to enhance peace, security and stability in the sub-region and promote the development of member states by applying the law without favour.
He said they should also use the courts to promote fairness and unity to avoid grievances from contending parties within their jurisdiction.
He added that the judges will also be called upon to advise on interpretation and application of ECOWAS treaties, protocols, conventions and decisions.
The court, which became operational in 2001, is mandated to interpret and apply community texts and human rights. It also plays the role of arbiter and serves as a public service court for the community on matters between the community and its staff.
The judges were selected from a pool of 300 eligible individuals from across the sub-region.
Source: GNA

Related Articles

Back to top button