CR7 shares Golden Shoe with Luis Suarez

Liverpool’s Luis Suarez and Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo are joint winners of the European Golden Shoe. This is the third time the accolade has been shared between players.
The last time the Golden Shoe had to be shared among two winners was the 2004-2005 season, when Arsenal’s Thierry Henry and Villarreal’s Diego Forlan each netted 25 goals.
In fact, so far, the prize has only been split twice – the first instance occurring during the 1989-1990 season when another Real Madrid star, Mexican international Hugo Sanchez, grabbed 38 goals and had to share the coveted prize with the Bulgarian Hristo Stoichov who was plying his trade in his native country.
Despite the Uruguayan (Suarez) and Portuguese (Ronaldo) stars each firing in 31 strikes, neither was able to help his side win their respective leagues. But in the absence of a league title, they will surely be pleased to have won the much sought-after trophy.

Related Articles

Back to top button