Yaya Toure crowned king of African football

Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure has become the first player to be named Confederation of African Football (CAF) African Footballer of the Year four years in a row.

Toure, 31, was nominated after playing a pivotal role in winning the Premier League and League Cup.
He also helped Ivory Coast qualify for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations.
Toure beat off the challenge of Gabon striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Nigeria goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama.
The Ivorian also made the Fifa shortlist for the 2014 Ballon D’Or prize in October 2014.
Everton striker Samuel Eto’o is the only other player to win the African Footballer of the Year award four times but his achievement was not in successive years.
Ghanaian winners included:

  • a posthumous Platinum Award for Dr Kwame Nkrumah (first president of Ghana)
  • CAF team of 2014 –  Kwadwo Asamoah (defender) and Asamoah Gyan (forward)

Full list of winners:

  • African Player of the Year: Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast and Manchester City)
  • African Player of the Year – Based in Africa: Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo and AS Vita)
  • Women’s Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)
  • Youth Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)
  • Most Promising Talent: Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and Porto)
  • Coach of the Year: Kheireddine Madoui (Entente Setif)
  • National Team of the Year: Algeria
  • Women’s National Team of the Year: Nigeria
  • Club of the Year: Entente Setif (Algeria)
  • Referee of the Year: Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)
  • Football Leader of the Year: Moise Katumbi – President of TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
  • African Legend award: Oryx Club (Cameroon) – winners of the maiden edition of CAF Champions League 1964 and Stade Malien (Mali) – runner up of the maiden edition of CAF Champion’s League 1964
  • Platinum Award: Dr Kwame Nkrumah (First President of Ghana) and His Excellency Goodluck Jonthan (President of Nigeria)
  • CAF team of 2014: Goalkeeper: Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria) Defenders: Jean Kasulula (DR Congo), Mehdi Benatia (Morocco), Stephane Mbia (Cameroon), Kwadwo Asamoah (Ghana) Midfielders: Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast), Yacine Brahimi (Algeria), Fakhreddine Ben Youssef (Tunisia), Ahmed Musa (Nigeria) Forwards: Asamoah Gyan (Ghana), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon) Substitutes: Raïs M’Bolhi (Algeria), Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo), Ferdjani Sassi (Tunisia), Gervinho (Ivory Coast), Abdelrahman Fetori (Libya), Akram Djahnit (Algeria), Roger Assalé (Ivory Coast)

Credit: BBC

Related Articles

Back to top button