Eligible Voters To Be Registered In Kessena Nanka District

The Electoral Commission, will from Monday, Decemebr 3 to Wednesday, December 5, undertake a registration exercise for voters in Gayingo, Doba, Akunikongo/Abemtingo and Atosale/Azaasi electoral areas in the Kassena Nankana East District of the Upper East region.

This follows an order by the Fast Track High Court which was presided over by Justice U.P. Dery and gave the order after finding the EC Chairman, Dr. Kwadwo Afari-Gyan, and two other officials of the commission guilty of contempt for disregarding an order to conduct biometric registration of the voters in the area.

The order directed the Electoral Commission to undertake registration of voters in those areas.

The action of the court was predicated on a judgment given on October 18, 2012 against the EC and six others by the court, presided over by Mr. Justice Edward Asante Amoako, which ordered the EC to conduct registration of voters in eight affected registration centres of the Atosale/Azaasi and Akumkongo/Abempingo Electoral areas within 14 days.

The Kassena Nankana district of the Upper East Region became a hotbed of boycotts during the voter biometric registration exercise some months ago.

The farming community threatened not to take part in the upcoming presidential and parliamentary elections in December because they were unhappy with the change of name of some of the polling stations.

A statement signed by the Deputy Chairman of Operations, K. Safo-Kantanka, reminded all eligible voters in the mentioned areas “to take with them one of the following to show as proof of their eligibility; a passport, driver’s license, old voter ID card, National Health Insurance card or a National Identification Card.”

“Applicants who qualify to register, but do not possess any of the identification cards indicated above are required to bring two guarantors who are already registered voters to attest to their qualification to register as voters,” the statement added.

Registration is scheduled to start at 7:00 am and end at 5:00 pm each day.
Source: Citifmonline

Related Articles

Back to top button