NPP @29: I ‘ll Pick Up Forms And Contest The Chairmanship To Be The Voice Of The Party’s Grassroot – Asabee

The Director General of State Interest and Governance Authority Mr Stephen Asamoah Boateng popularly known as Asabee has intimated his resolve to contest for the NPP Chairmanship portfolio when the party opens nomination for suiters to pick and vie for the coveted post of the party.

The former Information and tourism minister in erstwhile president Kufuor’s regime said this at the 29th anniversary of the party and added that he had special interests in representing the grassroot to further oil the party’s chance of breaking the 8 Year rule since the commencement of the fourth republic.

The Director General for State Interests and Governance Authority (SIGA), the grassroot incoming National Chairman for the NPP on Thursday 5th August joined the rank and file of the New Patriotic Party at the party’s headquarters in Asylum Down to mark the NPP @29 celebration.

The NPP received it’s certificate as a registered political party from the Electoral Commission on the 28th July 1992. Symbolically today’s anniversary was planned to coincide with the formation of the United Gold Coast Convention (UGCC) at Saltpond in August 1947. The NPP is a centre-right political formed with the principles of freedom of association, freedom of speech, believe in free enterprise, respect for human rights, protection of individual liberties. The Party stands to liberate the energies of the people for the growth of a property-owning democracy in this land, with right to life, freedom and justice, as the principles to which the Government and laws of the land should be dedicated in order specifically to enrich life, property and liberty of each and every citizen.

It is worth noting that the NPP, although being a centre-right group is the only political party in Ghana that has implemented numerous social policy interventions to better the lives of Ghanaian citizenry such as NHIA, School Feeding Program, One District One Factory, One Village One Dam, Free Senior High Schools just to mention but few.

The Incoming National Chairman, Hon. Stephen Asamoah Boateng popularly known as Asabee got to the Headquarters early and engaged party faithfuls and also helped the National Organiser, Sammy Awuku to put things in order for the programme to start on time. He granted interviews to media houses and spoke into details about the history of the ruling New Patriotic Party. As someone who knows the root of his party, Hon. Asamoah Boateng averted the minds of Ghanaians especially the NPP folks about how it all started in his own hometown, Saltpond in the Central Region on that day of 4th August, 1947. He saluted the Founding Fathers such as B.J. da Rocha, Agyenim Boateng and Hackman Owusu Agyemang. He commended our leaders like Peter Ala Adjetey, Jake Otanka Obetsebi-Lamptey, Samuel Odoi Sykes, Victor Owusu, Dr. Safo-Adu, Prof. Adu Boahen, President J.A. Kufuor, Dr. Dsane-Selby, Dan Kwaku Botwe, Peter MacManu, amongst others for bringing us this far.

In the address of the current National Chairman of the NPP, Hon. Freddy Blay stated categorically that the anniversary is his last celebration as the National chairman of the party and that, he is not going to seek for a re-election in the upcoming National Elections of the NPP. This made the party grassroots who were present at the event started chanting the Hon. Asabee’s name to lace his boots to take over as the National Chairman of the NPP.

Hon. Asabee whom many party faithful, especially footsoldiers are convinced that making him the next National Chairman will make the party a formidable fighting machinery with his organisational skills, affable and accessible nature is poised to lead the NPP to break the eight year rule cycle.

The 29th Anniversary was graced by the President, Nana Akufo-Addo; Vice-President Dr. Alhaji Mahamadu Bawumia; Hackman Owusu Agyemang Chairman of the Council of Elders.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button