Asante Kotoko to register 28 first team players

Premiere League and FA Cup double winners Asante Kotoko intend to sign 28 players for the new season, according to footy-Ghana.com.
Club head coach Mas-Ud Dramani says he hopes to finish his technical assessment of the players; some of whom are on trial with the club, before finalising his squad at the end of the week, in line with the August 31 deadline given by the Premier League Board.
“I think by the end of this week, I can finish with my assessment so I can make judgement with my colleagues at the technical staff. We will be looking at the medical issue, the physical components as well as their technical and tactical approach. That is why most of these players were involved in the game against the Tamale Select side just to be able to assess them fairly and then we can make the correct judgement in regard to the replacements we need,” Dramani said.
The Premiere League Board will use an online system to register players and at the moment, all Premier League clubs are in the process of finaliszing their squads.
Players on trial with Asante Kotoko include Raphael Obeng (last played for Egypt’s Telephonat Beni Suef), James Bissue (Amidaus), Atta Kusi (Amidaus), Isaac Duah (RedBull), Babamu (Corners), Abdul Samed Oppong and Akwasi Adu (formerly of Kessben FC).
Three Ivorians, Mamadou Kone, Alhassan, and Sylla Adams, are also on trial and Dramani believes that quality and age would be some of his considerations in deciding whether or not to include them.
“If you are getting somebody from foreign, definitely he has to be better than what you have locally, but if the strength is on the same line, I think you have to think about the age element also – that you will not have time to develop somebody from outside I don’t think you have to go for him but when he has the potency of short term development, then you can make a concentration,” he added.
Players who have been retained are Joseph Addo, Felix Annan, Eric Ofori Antwi, Amos Frimpong, Eric Donkor, Abeiku Ainooson, Akwasi Acheampong, SmallBoy Korbah, Ohene Branya, Larbi Koomson, Godfred Asante, Prince Baffoe, Rahim Ayew, Jordan Opoku, Richard Mpong, Obed Owusu, Abdul Latif Amadu, Stephen Oduro, Kamara, Lukeman Kassim, Richard Oti, Kojo Poku, Ben Adama, Michael Akuffo, Christopher Bonney and Isaac Amoako
 Credit: footyghana

Related Articles

Back to top button