Parliament approves nomination of 35 deputy ministers-designate

Parliament on Monday approved by consensus the nomination of 35 personalities appointed by President John Mahama to deputy ministerial positions. The nominees were approved after the House adopted the Reports of the Appointments Committee of Parliament during an emergency meeting of the Legislature. The appointees include Dr Dominic Amine, Justice and Attorney-General’s Department, Ms Barbara Sera Asamoah, Lands and Natural Resources, Mr Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, Education, Mr Felix Kwakye Ofosu, Information and Media Relations, Mr Cassiel Ato Baah Forson, Finance, Mr George Kweku Ricketts-Hagan, Finance, Mr Thomas Kwesi Quartey, Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration, Mr Emmanuel Kwadwo Agyekum, Local Government and Rural Development and Dr Bernice Adiku Heloo, Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation, The rest are Mrs Joyce Bawah Mogtari, Transport, Mr Ebenezer Okletey Terlabi, Defence, Dr Alfred Sugri Tia, Health, Mr Alex Kyeremeh, Education, Mr Yaw Effah-Baafi, Lands and Natural Resources, Mr James Agalga, Interior, Mr Vincent Oppong-Asamoah, Water Resources, Works and Housing, Mr Sampson Ahi, Water Resources, Works and Housing, Mr Joseph Yammin, Youth and Sports, Dr Musheibu Mohammed-Alfa, Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation, Mr John Abdulai Jinapor, Energy and Petroleum and Mr Benjamin Dagadu, Energy and Petroleum. The others are Dr Ahmed Yakubu Alhassan, Food and Agriculture, Mr Murtala Muhammed Ibrahim, Information and Media Relations, Mr Edwin Nii Lantey Vanderpuye, Trade and Industry, Ms Victoria Lakshmi Hamah, Communications, Baba Jamal Mohammed Ahmed, Local Government and Rural Development, Mr John Alexander Ackon, Chieftaincy and Traditional Affairs, Mr Isaac Adjei Mensah, Roads and Highways, Ms Ablah Dzifah Gomashie, Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts, Mr Antwi-Bosiako Sekyere, Employment and Labour Relations, Alhaji Bashir Fuseini Alhassan, Northern Region, Mrs Benita Sena Okity-Duah, Gender, Children and Social Protection, Dr Hannah Louisa Bisiw, Food and Agriculture, Mr Aquinas Tawaih Quansah, Fisheries and Aquaculture Development and Ms Rachel Florence Appoh, Gender, Children and Social Protection. The Chairman of the Appointments Committee, Mr Ebo Barton-Odro, who is also the First Deputy Speaker who moved the motion for the adoption of the reports of the committee told the House that the nominees appeared before the committee and answered questions on pertinent issues relevant to their positions and after carefully scrutinising them they were recommended by consensus to be approved and appointed. The House is also expected during the two-day emergency sitting to adopt the Report of the Committee on the proposed formula for distributing the District Assemblies’ Common Fund for the fiscal year.
Source: GNA

Related Articles

Back to top button