Full list of winners, Africa Magic Vewers Choice Awards 2016

The AMVCA is appreciated by the continent’s biggest players. Organizers maintain the scheme will endeavour to cultivate and inspire new talent within the various Pan African industries through its development programme. Content and technical Master Classes took place prior to the awards.

Ghana’s Patrick Asante of House of Eccentric lost out on the award for Best Costume Design for the Juliet-Asante-directed ‘Silverrain’ while Nana Mensah also lost in the Best Actress (Comedy) category. Juliet Asante missed out on winning the Best Movie in West Africa as well as the overall Best Movie award, which went to Stephanie Linus’ ‘Dry’.

Ghana’s nominated duo of Majid Michel and Van Vicker in the Best Actor (Drama) were beaten to it by Daniel K. Daniel for the movie ‘A Soldier’s Story’.

This year’s ceremony was hosted by South African beauty Minenhle Dlamini and IK Osakioduwa.

Best Art Director – Frank Raja Arase for “The Refugees”
Best TV Series – Ariyike Oladipo for “Daddy’s Girls”
Best Makeup Artist– Louiza Calore for “Ayanda”
Best Short Film – Oluseyi Amuwa for “A Day With Death”
Best Writer – Trish Malone for “Ayanda”
Best Lighting – Stanley Ohikuare for “Common Man”
Best Cinematography – Paul Michaelson for “Tell Me Sweet Something”
Best Sound Editor – Marquez Jose Guillermo for “Dry”
Best Picture Editor – Shirley Frimpong-Manso for “Rebecca”
Best Costume Design – Uche Nancy for “Dry”
Best Local Language (Swahili) – Single Mtambalike for “Kitendawali”
Best Local Language (Hausa) – Salisu Balarabe for “Dadin Kowa”
Best Local Language (Yoruba) – Abiodun Jomoh & Jumoke Odetola for “Binta Ofege”
Best Local Language (Igbo) – Paul Igwe for “Usekwu Igbo”
Best Documentary – Remi Vaughan Richards for “Faaji Agba”
Best Supporting Actor – Sambassa Nseribe for “A Soldier’s Story”
Best Supporting Actress – Tunbosun Aiyedehin “Before 30”
Best Actor (Comedy) – Folarin Falz Falana for “Jenifa’s Diary”
Best Actress (Comedy) – Funke Akindele for “Jenifa’s Diary”
2016 AMVCA Trailblazer – Kemi Lala Akindoju
2016 AMVCA Industry Merit Awards – Bukky Ajayi & Sadiq Daba
Best Movie (Southern Africa) – “Lilongwe” by Joyce Mhango Chavula
Best Movie (Eastern Africa) – “Mapenzi” by Elizabeth Michael
Best Movie (Western Africa) – “Road To Yesterday” by Chinny Onwugbenu, Genevieve Nnaji & Chichi Nwoko
Best Actress (Drama) – Adesua Etomi for “Falling”
Best Actor (Drama) – Daniel K. Daniel for “A Soldier’s Story”
Best Director – Akin Omotosho for “Tell Me Sweet Something”
Best Overall Movie – “Dry” by Stephanie Linus

Related Articles

Back to top button