Travelers from Ebola-hit countries restricted to five US airports

All travelers flying into the United States from the West African countries most impacted by the Ebola virus can only enter through five airports, Homeland Security Secretary Jeh Johnson announced Tuesday.
Starting Wednesday, passengers traveling from Liberia, Sierra Leone or Guinea can only gain entry through the international airports in New York, Washington, D.C., Atlanta, Chicago and Newark, New Jersey, which account for 94% of all incoming travelers from those countries, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
While all US entry points currently screen passengers for potential exposure to the Ebola virus, these five airports have taken additional steps to screen for the disease, such as taking passengers’ temperature and other additional protocols, Johnson said.
The announcement comes amid increasingly vocal calls for President Barack Obama to ban all travel from those three countries into the United States despite top health officials advising against a travel ban.

Related Articles

Back to top button